|Ask a Question
|Summary of Question:
|Thursday, 12/28/2006 5:11 PM MST
First of all i would like to thank all sikhnet moderators who are doing a great job for us confused individuals, you tend to bless us when we write something to you but its you guys that deserve the blessing, thank you. I wanted to ask if taking omega 3 capsules, seven seas, or simply fish oil is allowed if your a sikh, as I am a vegetarian myself and havent eaten fish or taken it as a supplement for as long as i can remember but someone on sikhnet mentioned taking it on a recent topic (regarding coke) as it has benefits. I religiously thought its not allowed and hooped you could clear this matter for me, thanks again!
<<<<< REPLY >>>>>
Taking a dietary supplement (nutritional supplement) containing fish oil is not the same as eating fish or meat. However you may wish to use a vegetarian source of Omega-3 fatty acids instead. The best one I know of is flaxseed oil. Fish oils, derived from cold water fatty fish such as salmon, herring, mackerel, sardines and trout, do contain high levels of Omega-3 but they contain only about half that of flaxseed oil. Flaxseed oil also has the benefit of containing no cholesterol, is lower in saturated fat, and does not contain the often high levels of toxic chemicals, such as mercury, that can bio-accumulate in fish. Some evidence also suggests that Omega-3 fatty acids in fish can be more unstable and more likely to break down and release destructive free radicals. They also more readily turn rancid which places a stress on the liver during their metabolism. Omega-3 fatty acids from plants sources are in a more stable form and are a preferable source. In addition to flaxseed oil, both hempseed oil and canola oil contain high levels of Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids.