To Begin and End an Akhand Paath

To Begin and End an Akhand Paath
  1. Kirtan
  2. Song of the Khalsa
  3. Five Pauris of Anand Sahib plus the Slok of Japji Sahib
  4. Ardas
  5. Hukam
  6. After the Hukam, the Granthi turns to the first page of the Siri Guru Granth Sahib where Japji Sahib begins and starts to read aloud.
  7. After five Pauris of Japji are read, Guruprashad is distributed to the listeners.
  8. The reading will remain unbroken until the entire Siri Guru Granth Sahib is completed. The sangat will gather for the bhog ceremony, (ending ceremony) when the last few pages are being read, beginning with the Sloks of Guru Teg Bahadur and ending with and including Raag Mala. Then the Granthi turns to Anand Sahib on page 917 and either reads the entire Anand Sahib or the first five Pauris. (This is if Ardas will follow immediately. Otherwise Anand Sahib can be sung as usual.) This is followed by either the entire Japji Sahib or the first five Pauris, depending on the wishes of the Sadh Sangat or the time allotted. At this time the Aartee may be sung.
  9. Ardas is recited.
  10. Hukam is taken and translation read.
  11. The ceremony may now proceed like any other kirtan program.

History - Donation - Privacy - Help - Registration - Home - Search

Copyright 1995-2004 SikhNet